FO Noah’s Ark Baby Blanket

I completed the Noah’s Ark Blanket this past Saturday and I am very pleased with how it came out. It was so much fun to crochet and was a nice change from knitting. Even though I consider myself a fast crocheter and knitter, I believe anyone would consider this project a fast crochet. So if you want a really cute, easy and fast baby gift for your grand baby, baby or someone special I would whole heartily suggest this blanket.

noahs_ark0013

Here is a close up view of the ark and animals.

noahs_ark0015

I found this cute cloud pattern on Ravelry by Andrea Moberly (Rain Cloud) and thought it was the perfect addition to this project! She is a very talented designer! I also just purchased her JoJo the Giraffe pattern and I am looking forward to making it sometime soon!

You can purchase her JoJo the Giraffe pattern on Ravelry and store it in your Ravelry library until you are ready to start it which is great. If you are not on Ravelry you can find the pattern at her Etsy store.

noahs_ark0001

I wanted to show the back of my blanket too, as I think it’s very important to take the time to sew your ark and animals on carefully so that no thread seams show on the back. After all you want the back to look nice too!

noahs_ark0006

Project Details

Started: April 2, 2008

Finished: April 12, 2008

Pattern: Noah’s Ark Baby Blanket in Crochet! Magazine May 2008

Yarn: TLC Cotton Plus Solid

Modifications: I added the Rain Cloud and used smaller hook size on the elephant’s trunk, giraffe’s antlers and spots. I also preferred the wrong side to show for the ark and elephant.

My Ravelry Details

7 thoughts on “FO Noah’s Ark Baby Blanket

  1. Beautiful! That baby blanket is the cutest! I like that you made sure the back of the blanket was free of sewing threads.
    The could was a perfect addition! It looks like it was meant for that blanket.

  2. Ok Connie, something has changed on your blog, I had to create a WordPress acct to leave a comment, and now I think I have a WordPress blog automagically created for me. Interesting… do you find WordPress better than Blogger?

    Anyways, I wanted to tell you that your baby blanket is gorgeous. It’s got to be one of the cutest baby blankets ever. Of course, you already knew this. 🙂 And I love how clean the back side looks too. Great job!

  3. This baby blanket is adorable! Friends of mine are having a baby in about 5 months. I am just learning to knit and do not yet know how to crochet. If I started learning aggressively, would it be feasible to be able to make something like this (of course, not as well as you!) in 5 months? Thanks for any tips. Again, absolutely ADORABLE!

Leave a Reply

