Blue Sky Alpacas Pleated Skirt

Sittin’and a Knittin’
I wanted to knit something nice for my daughter’s birthday in late June.
This is Jennifer.
I decided on this cute little pleated skirt. I thought that this would be a hard and time consuming knit, so I started early so that it would be finished by the time we go to St. Petersburg, Florida on the day of her birthday… June 28th to visit her for a few days.

This skirt really was very fun to knit! I used Shine Sport yarn in Willow from Knitpicks. The pattern calls to knit the back and front separate. So, I used a size 4 Addi Turbo in a 47″ length so that I could knit both front and back at the same time. It is so neat how you get this pleated look, just from knit and purl stitches! Here is a close up of the pleats.Once I finished the pleats I joined both sides to complete the skirt in the round. This way there was no seaming at the stockinette sides or the 1×1 ribbing at the waist. This is supposed to sit low on the waist or high on the hip. I didn’t do a test gauge and made it using the largest waist size of 29″. Waist Sizes: 25 (26.5, 29)” My daughter is 25″ at her waist? So why did I make it that size…I looked at the pattern wrong and thought that those were hip sizes and not waist sizes! Yikes! Although, I should have realized this sooner, I mean who has hips that are that small… a barbie doll? Luckily for me, it came out perfect. Or at least I think so, going by the dress form I have at home that is set to Jennifer’s measurements. I won’t know for sure until she tries it on when we visit her. If it is too big, I plan on crocheting a little picot edge around the waist and stringing it with a knitted I-Cord tie to keep it up. I just am hoping and praying it fits…LOLJennifer, we love you !

Update: It fits!


Leave a Reply

